Solar battery charger with load and battery monitor

Атанас Баротов

Joined Oct 7, 2015
Hello everyone,

I'm very new to building circuits and electronics, but I've started an arduino project, that I'm currently in a need of help with. I've ordered a charging board ( http://www.aliexpress.com/item/1PC-...ium-battery-DIY-Mini-USB-Port/1859868985.html ) that now I see is not exactly fit to work with a solar panel or as per my needs which are:

- use the solar panel ( up to 7.2v at direct sunlight, 0.4w per specifications that was used to charge the 3.8v battery or a 6v/3.5W/580-600mA solar panel)
- charge the battery (got 3 versions: 3.8v 2100mAh, 3.7v 2100mAh or 3.7v 9900mAh)
- power the arduino board ( 5-5.5v regulated or 6-12v unregulated)
- measure the charge level of the battery on the arduino
- power a 6v DC motor along with the arduino (not constant running, but turning the motor on and off shouldn't break the other things)

I've found the specifications for this circuit in the forum:
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/attachments/beam-solar-lipo-charger-jpg.5601/

or get this board:
http://www.adafruit.com/products/390

but I'm not sure if either fits as per my needs of measuring the charge level of the battery while it's working. Any help would be greatly appreciated especially if we can use the charging board I already have. At the moment I've put a capacitor on the solar panel and connected it to the board and have it charge the battery and power the motor, but as the voltage of it is non-regulated and at about 3.7-4v or a bit more at direct sunline I can't risk to power the arduino directly with it

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
...as per my needs of measuring the charge level of the battery while it's working.