Sensors for a boat

em_cardc

Joined Apr 5, 2016
Good day everyone, I just wanted some tips on a project I'm building and I would like advice. The part I need help with is: I want to build a little boat that
can pick up thrash on the sea and I would like to know what types of sensors could I use for avoiding it to crash and if it can be programmable using
the MSP432. Thank you in advance

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
What are you afraid of crashing into, land? Ships? Radar would be useful for the latter. GPS and a chart is how you avoid the former. Getting the robot boat to return with its trash to a central 'dump' will also require GPS, I think.

This is a challenging project! I suspect you might be able to find floating debris using sonar but I have no personal experience with sonar, or the chip you named. I know you'll probably get in trouble for using sonar at too high a power level.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
I want to build a little boat
If it's 'small' then (a) it's unlikely to damage anything it runs into (so fitting sensors would be of little or no benefit) and (b) no amount of sensors will prevent it being smashed by a large boat running into it.

BobaMosfet

Joined Jul 1, 2009
Good day everyone, I just wanted some tips on a project I'm building and I would like advice. The part I need help with is: I want to build a little boat that
can pick up thrash on the sea and I would like to know what types of sensors could I use for avoiding it to crash and if it can be programmable using
Not to throw water on the idea, but a 'little' autonomous boat is more at risk from the waves and storm and such than anything else. It may stay afloat, but will likely capsize and become trash itself. If you put it out into shipping lanes it will get run over by tanker so large there is nothing it can do to avoid them or the wake.

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013