Safety concerns about a bridge rectifier

vincent_b

Joined Jun 19, 2017
Hi Guys,
I am helping out a client that want me to design a chandelier light using an "Asian-made" 10 meters stripe made with LEDs diodes.
Link to the product the client has bought

This stripe is made of 1000 led diodes producing 66watts. It came with an 8A 800V Rectifier bridge that was in a small plastic box with silicone sealing the box.

The connection is:
AC 240v > 8A 800V Rectifier bridge > diode stripe.

I am right to be quite concerned about the safety of this lamp? As you can read I have no knowledge in electrical parts but was reading online that i might need to add a fuse on both side of the rectifier bridge? Place this rectifier in a metal box with ground earthing?

Thanks for any inputs!

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Your link does not get me to a product but rather an account login.

I did go to Ali Express and the 10 meter strips I saw around 60 watt were all low voltage DC, typically 12 Volts including 12 VDC Power Supplies.

Ron

Last edited:

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Hi Guys,
I am helping out a client that want me to design a chandelier light using an "Asian-made" 10 meters stripe made with LEDs diodes.
Link to the product the client has bought

This stripe is made of 1000 led diodes producing 66watts. It came with an 8A 800V Rectifier bridge that was in a small plastic box with silicone sealing the box.

The connection is:

I am right to be quite concerned about the safety of this lamp? As you can read I have no knowledge in electrical parts but was reading online that i might need to add a fuse on both side of the rectifier bridge? Place this rectifier in a metal box with ground earthing?

Thanks for any inputs!