Safe LED alternative to Neon indicator (is there one?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grum

Joined Apr 30, 2018
Hi all,
I'm new to AAC, so please forgive me any sins I am about to unwittingly commit...

I have seen a few posts in these forums, that have been cut dead with variations on the commandment "Thou shalt not connect LEDs directly to the mains"!

I can certainly understand both the safety perspective, and at least some of the technical reasons why this is a bad idea - so, I am intrigued as what "directly to the mains" actually means in this instance.

My backstory that has led me to this line of enquiry, is that I want to wire a new in-line socket onto a mains extension lead that had an argument with the lawn mower (the mower won!). The existing socket end is a single moulded translucent piece that has a neon indicator in it - so that you can see if it is switched on at the wall outlet from far away and round the corner.

The replacement socket pieces that are available here in Australia, are completely dismantle-able (if that is a word), and the one I have purchased has some spaces in the moulding that are isolated from the mains connections, and would be an ideal location for an indicator, as it doesn't have one built in.