Repairing a Chinese Power Supply

Chris__H

Joined Nov 7, 2016
Hi all, I wasn't quite sure where to post this thread as I am a newbie and are still trying to workout the forum, so sorry to the moderators in advance for this. My power supply had a minor fizz and i was after a bit of help in identifying the part? I think it's a resistor marked "R5" on the board and has a code 47XX? see pics attached. The XX part of the code has been burnt away? I tried contacting the company via aliexpress but all of a sudden a repair enquiry gets a cold shoulder! Go Figure!! If anyone has an idea about that component I'd love to hear from you. Your help will be really appreciated. Thanks.
Pwr spply.jpg Board.jpg IMG_5122.jpg IMG_5137.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
You will probably find that either or both of Q1 and Q3 is now short circuit in which case there are likely other components blown too.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
R2 nd R5 look like respective 'gate stopper' resistors for Q1 and Q3 respectively, so 47 Ohms would be an appropriate value. Agree with Bertus about Q3 mounting/overheating.

Chris__H

Joined Nov 7, 2016
Hi All thanks so much for identifying the 47R0 and your advice and input. Also great observations on the Q3 not being snrewed in you guys.:) I will replace R5 with a new 47R, screw in Q3 and check both Q1 & Q3 for shorts along with other components. Hopefully that does the trick. Thanks again to All

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
First, I ignore where my two mobiles come from and second, aren'the they all nowadays?:(
I think it is funny that the highest quality devices in the world are coming from China (iPhones) and people still say stuff like "Chinese Power Supply".