Question about electric resistance heaters...

mculik5

Joined May 9, 2018
I recently took apart a failed baby bottle warmer to salvage parts. The bottle warmer worked by heating water and circulating it around the bottle.

Unfortunately, it wasn't designed to be easily disassembled and I broke the casing trying to get it apart. So, I didn't get a good look at the internals before they spilled out on my table.

I'm not an electronics expert, but this is a VERY simple appliance and I can explain almost all of it. A pump, a timer switch, some thermostatic switches for safety, etc.

What I haven't been able to figure out is the heating element. Possibly related to this, the only two parts I don't understand are two thin sheets of what appear to be aluminum, each with one wire attached. I'm not sure how they were set up in the casing, but when they spilled out, they weren't attached to each other. Just two aluminum (I think) sheets, each with one (blue) wire coming off it, and nothing on either of them (like thermal compound). And by thin, I mean thicker than aluminum foil and rigid, but probably under 1mm.

Is this some kind of two piece heating element? If so, what is it typically called and how does it work?

Thanks.

oz93666

Joined Sep 7, 2010
Searching "bottle warmer heating elements" I get this ....

The aluminium shell would just be to eliminate hot spots and conduct heat away from the coil(I guess) ...You can just see the heat resistant sleeve around the coil poking out ...These come in voltages from 12 to 240 so many types of different coils , the mains voltage will have very fine wire ... may not be a coil inside , could perhaps be a semiconductor ceramic?

The "Heat material " is described as a" PTC Thermistor "