Python tkinter stopping mainloop and going back to IDLE state

zazas321

Joined Nov 29, 2015
Hello. I have developed a tkinter GUI for my application. I have been working with tkinter and learning it for a couple of months now. I have tried various tkinter GUI methods ( frames, canvas and etc ) and I found a way that works best for me. However, I am having one trouble regarding breaking out of mainloop while its running. I have developed a simple script to show what I mean:

Code:
import tkinter as tk
from tkinter import Button,Entry,Canvas,Label,ttk

class Application(tk.Frame):
    def __init__(self,master=None):
        super().__init__(master)
        self.master = master
    def Create_canvas(self,canvas_width,canvas_height):
        global canvas#described as global because used outside class
        canvas = tk.Canvas(self.master,bg='papaya whip',width=canvas_width,height=canvas_height)

def Application_Intro(self):
        print("starting new app")
        restart_program_button = tk.Button(canvas, text="Restart_program",font='Helvetica 12 bold', width=20, height=2,
                                           command =self.Restart)
        start_program_button = tk.Button(canvas, text="Start_program",font='Helvetica 12 bold', width=20, height=2,
                                         command =self.Start_program)    
        canvas.create_text(960,20,text="MY PROGRAM",font='Helvetica 16 bold')
        canvas.create_window(710,300,window = restart_program_button)
        canvas.create_window(710,500,window = start_program_button)
        canvas.pack()
        self.master.mainloop()

def Start_program(self):
        print("Program start")
        self.master.after(1000,self.Start_program)

def Restart(self):# IF TASK STARTED SET RESTART =1, IF NOT restart devices and refresh app
        print("HERE I WANT TO INTERRUPT START PROGRAM AND RETURN TO IDLE STATE")
        print("REFRESH GUI ELEMENTS, DESTROY ANY WIDGETS IF CREATED")