Problem using AA batteries to heat wire

iadams3

Joined Feb 9, 2017
Hi there!

I am new to electronics, and am trying to create some DIY ski boot heaters using AA batteries and 30AWG silver-plated copper wire with TFE insulation.

My problem is, the batteries themselves are heating up, leaving the wire only warm at best. Here is what I have done so far:

The resistance of the wire is 0.1 ohms per foot, so I calculated that 7.5 feet of the wire would be 0.75 ohms resistance, and with 6 volts from 4 AA batteries, would draw 8 amps. This should give me 48 watts of power, similar to other heated clothing options online.

However, this setup only made the wire slightly warm, and the batteries - Amazon Basics brand - became too hot to touch. I then tried Duracell Quantum AA batteries, and they didn't get as hot, but the wire was still barely warm. I also tried reducing the wire length to only 1 foot, but that didn't seem to change anything.

Any thoughts on where I am going wrong? My only idea at this point is to increase the length of the wire so I am sure the wire's resistance is higher than that of the batteries, and possibly to increase the battery power (number of AAs or use a C or D) I am using.

Thanks for the help!

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
Hi there!

I am new to electronics, and am trying to create some DIY ski boot heaters using AA batteries and 30AWG silver-plated copper wire with TFE insulation.

My problem is, the batteries themselves are heating up, leaving the wire only warm at best. Here is what I have done so far:

The resistance of the wire is 0.1 ohms per foot, so I calculated that 7.5 feet of the wire would be 0.75 ohms resistance, and with 6 volts from 4 AA batteries, would draw 8 amps. This should give me 48 watts of power, similar to other heated clothing options online.