powering an amplifier light with 9 volt dc

sim84

Joined Dec 11, 2014
Hi, I'm a total beginner at electronics (as in, sort of worked out the difference between volts and amps last week kind of beginner), but I am making a guitar pedal board project (most of the work is woodworking), and I want to be able to use one of the 9 volt dc outputs on the power supply which runs my pedals to power a small light bulb in the style of Fender guitar amps. Apparently Fender normally use a 6.3 volt bulb. When I google search for 9 volt bulb all I get is a bunch of stuff about powering a light bulb with a battery. Can anyone tell me if what I'm trying to do is possible? Here's a link to the power supply I have, in case that helps:

http://cioks.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=58&Itemid=73

Cheers!

Simon

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Should not be difficult. You can put a resistor or a Zener diode in series with the bulb to bring the voltage down to about 6.3 volts.

The Zener will give you the most predictable results. If your bulb draws less than 150 milliamps (and it almost certainly does) you can use a 1N5223B Zener diode with the cathode (marked with a band) toward the postive power supply.

http://www.es.co.th/Schemetic/PDF/1N5221-67B.PDF

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I tried looking for a bayonet base 9V bulb, but didn't find any. Please proceed as you were.
The current for 6.3V incandescent bulbs that I saw ranges from .15A to .25A

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
The zener diode is the simplest method. Or if you're up to it, make a voltage regulator circuit to drop the 9vdc to 6.3vdc. It can be made with just a few parts and is based on the LM317 adjustable voltage regulator.
LM317.png

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
OK, so maybe the LM317 circuit is overkill. Here's the zener circuit suggested by DickCappels:
zener.png
The zener part number is from LTSpice, who indicates the manufacturer is On Semiconductor. The DigiKey part number is BZX84C6V2LT1GOSCT-ND