Possible Diode Issue, Help Please.

DrainMan

Joined Mar 21, 2020
I have a Hobbywing G3 Flight controller you can find a pic here https://www.myfpvstore.com/fpv-elec...-g3-60a-combo-fpv-stack-escflight-controller/

it will not turn on via direct power or via micro usb. I have checked for a short and can not find one. When i force in voltage one diode in paticular gets hot, it is next to two others but only this one get hot. it's a small SMD diode, the one that is getting hot is label SZ and the line is on the left side of the S and the 2nd diode is also labeled the same and the third is labeled 1H

I am still learning and really enjoy playing with electronics, any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
it will not turn on via direct power or via micro usb.
Where are you applying "direct power"?
The USB port is only for flashing the firmware or adjusting parameters: not for use as a power input.
What do you mean by "When i force in voltage "? That sounds like a recipe for disaster.
Some diodes may be signal diodes and run cold, whereas others may carry high currents and feel uncomfortably hot yet be well within their power-handling rating. Without a schematic of your FC we can't tell whether the diode you have concerns about is behaving normally or not.
The label 'SZ' suggests it may be a Zener diode. Then again, it might indicate something entirely different in Chinese :).

DrainMan

Joined Mar 21, 2020
Welcome to AAC!

Where are you applying "direct power"?
The USB port is only for flashing the firmware or adjusting parameters: not for use as a power input.
What do you mean by "When i force in voltage "? That sounds like a recipe for disaster.