Please Identify Resistor in Photo to Help NooB

tony17112acst

Joined Jul 20, 2018
I have a Kitchen Power vent (model: JVB67) and when I touched a wire to the body, I saw a spark fly and it no longer worked. The wire was to the raise/lower button which is just completing a circuit like a simple doorbell does.

I removed the cover and found a resistor burnt out on the board (model: WB27X10704) and I'd like to replace it, but I have never done a resistor before since I'm a noob. I just want to be sure I purchase the correct one. I have soldered some stuff onto boards, but I'm not worried about the soldering, just getting the correct resistor.

Viewing these photos, can someone verify that the one burnt out in my 1st photo in what I think it is?
Orange/Orange/Brown Gold? ...330 Ohms, +-5%?

The other photos are of the board WB27X10704 from online retailers and ebayers. So the 1st photo is my board, and the rest are other people's boards to identify the colors of the resistor.

Thanks in advance for anyone who helps me identify the resistor!

20231230_171941.jpg

U22ntitled.jpg

Untitldsed.jpg

WB27X10704.jpg

Zoom-blown-resistor.jpg

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Ian: What is "capacitive dropper?" Thank you.
It's a circuit to generate a low-voltage supply (say 5V to 15V) at low current, but not isolated from the mains, in order to run some logic or control circuitry. it consists of a Class-X capacitor (one on your board labelled 224), a high voltage diode (the black one), a zener diode (the glass one), an electrolytic capacitor (the black sleeved cylinder) and, usually but not always, a power resistor (green, labelled "3W")

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
My guess here is that your fried resistor is merely a symptom. Resistors burn up sue to excessive current. Replace the burned up resistor and you will see another burned up resistor. The trick is finding the root cause which caused the symptom.

Ron

tony17112acst

Joined Jul 20, 2018