PIC Assembly problem: Transfer value from one variable to another

MRKane

Joined May 4, 2018
Hello all,

Please excuse what's possibly one of the more stupid questions you'll come across but I'm a C# programmer by profession so PIC Assembly has been annoying if anything else.

So I decided to expand the PS2 to N64 adaptor project as described here (http://www.afermiano.com/), using a PIC16F688, and while the original author of the project has been very helpful he's had little time to assist a newbie with an old project. As part of my expansion of function in the code I had to change how buttons were handled, first clearing the value fields upon which they're set, and then setting them as was originally in the project. The problem here is that the N64 interrupt read will sometimes read the buttons as blank (which ruins drifts in Mario Kart 64!).

I concluded that it was probably best to copy values from one field to another at the end of the process, and have the interrupt read that :) thing is that I cannot figure out how to get that working! And it should be crazy simple!

So what I've been trying to do is something akin to this, copying the values assigned in N64_BYTE_1 into READ_N64_BYTE_1:

movlw N64_BYTE_1 ;move address of byte into W register
movwf FSR ;make FSR ‘point’ to the address of the byte
movfw INDF ;moe the contents of the pointed file (byte) into W
movwf READ_N64_BYTE_1 ;move the contents of W into our target field​

But I'm just not smart enough to figure it out, so finally concluded that it was time to ask for assistance, as I'm sure it's something stupidly simple that I'm just not grasping here, so all assistance welcome just please don't be too cryptic ;)

I can also provide a project of the current build as it stands if that would be of assistance.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Hi, Welcome to AAC.

Not sure of what is causing the error. Here are some common things to look for: