Other languages on the horizon

prophoss

Joined Feb 26, 2019
I was listening to embedded FM today and they started talking about circutpython which is based on micropython. That got me to thinking about the future a little. I am a student in my mid 40's and would love to get into embedded or firmware type programming. The thing I have noticed is that most of the new micro-controller/ processors are well bigger. They have more flash memory or sram and more stuff in general that you can do with them. Their size is still very compact and you could make a case that eventually most anything you want could have one of these bigger MCUs in it, though why you would need one I am not sure. I am continuing to learn C but I was wondering if learning micropython is a good idea. I know that the basic answer is yes. I mean why not right, but do y'all think that something like that could eventually become as necessary to know as C or C++ one day? I get the feeling that as things become more complicated there will be a need to have a language that allows programmers to use these micros to their full potential. I do realize that micropython is built on C, but just like Arduino they allow easier use of what can be a very complex thing. Maybe it's not real time like C but the difference would be very slight if noticeable at all. It's not just about ease of use either. By using something like that you may be dumbing down some things but you could potentially be allowing for a greater use of others. Well what do y'all think? I'm not trying to cause a debate over one language vs another but rather looking at the possibilities of adding to the stack or building on top of what we currently know and use.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I'd say that the answer is... it depends.