Noob Question - Single Power Supply for multiple devices with varying voltages?

Status
Not open for further replies.

L. Scott Hudson

Joined May 27, 2020
I'm not an EE; I'm a software engineer. I want to build a mobile robotics platform. Here is the question- very simply, I'd like to have one power supply, something like a 7.5v pack of six rechargeable AA batteries.

Let's say that the components are
1) Two 7.5v DC motors
2) One 5~6v motor controller
3) 5v Arduino
4) 5v Raspberry Pi

Is there any way to engineer this so that all components are powered by the same 7.5v pack? A quick google search suggests that the parts required would add up to less than a value meal, I just have no idea how to do it.

What about a 12v rechargeable battery? They are easily obtainable by searching recycle ads for discarded children's toys, and six AAs won't last very long powering an Arduino + Raspberry Pi simultaneously.

Thanks in advance

~ L

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi LSH,
Welcome to AAC.
What is the required operating duration of the robotics platform.?
It would be advisable to power the two motors from their own 7.5V supply

There are low drop out voltage regulators that will give 5V from a 7.5V supply.
Post more information about the motor loading etc...
E

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I would imagine that the motors are going to be a significantly heavier drain on your batteries than you Arduino and the Pi are. But you need to supply numbers to know if that's the case or not.

Determine how much current each of the components you need to power will draw under realistic conditions. That's your starting point. Not much point going any further until that's done.

sparky 1

Joined Nov 3, 2018
It is very common to have different or variable different voltages.
The power has a 12V terminal. Following the data sheet for setting an LM317 find the correct resistor value.
The LM317 is set to 7.5V next the variable is called a PWM module. It operates the motors speed very nicely.