New Old Guy

Switched

Joined Apr 9, 2015
Hello,

My name is Switched aka Ron and I just joined the group. I'm a retired machinist and I need a small scale hobby to keep my mind alive so I have decided to experiment with electronics. Flashlight batteries and light bulbs is pretty much the extent of my knowledge so I might ask questions that will make you all look at one another and scratch your heads. I'm not a dumb or stupid man, I'm just ignorant when it comes to matters outside of my field of expertise. Today I need to know whether I should purchase NE555N or NE555P timers for my 12V timer relay project. I did use the site search function and I did not find an answer.

Thanks,
Ron

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Welcome to the forum.
Give us a few more details about how the timer should work and we can better answer your questions.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Hi Ron,

If you're just getting started, make sure you buy through-hole parts. Much easier to breadboard. 555 timers are pretty much the same, though there are some CMOS versions.

Since you're just starting with electronics, you should know that any MOS devices require protection from static discharge. Most have built-in ESD protection, but don't depend on it. If you're lucky, ESD damage will kill the device outright. If you're unlucky, it will continue to work, but reliability will be compromised.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
Hello,