• a

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • b

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

coneofsilence

Joined Dec 24, 2014
hello i'm newbie here :)

as i known, neutral has zero charge of electron. then how does with 220v AC?
in half of second, current flows from the neutral and go flowing to the L1/L2/L3, so how can electron come and flow?

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi,
You are confusing 'Neutron', which has no charge with Neutral which is a name used to described mains wiring Line and Neutral.

E

coneofsilence

Joined Dec 24, 2014
hi,
You are confusing 'Neutron', which has no charge with Neutral which is a name used to described mains wiring Line and Neutral.

E
hi eric, thanks for answering.
i'm confused about neutral used for 220v ac (line+neutral). how can neutral provides current in a half of second? (based on alternating current principle).
i'm electrical beginner, so sorry if i'm asking stupid question. actually i'm still confused about ur answer :)

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi,
The Line [Phase] and Neutral are only the copper wires that form a conducting loop between the power station Alternator and the Load [ say a Kettle] in your house.
The loop wires do not create or provide current.

In many mains supplies the Neutral wire is also connected to Ground/Earth

Does this help.?
E

EDIT:
To keep it simple, I have omitted any mains transformers.;)

Attachments

Last edited:

coneofsilence

Joined Dec 24, 2014
eh sorry, aint a half of second, it depands upon its frequency.
hha get it eric, i'm quite undertood, thanks.

let's see this vidio, would u mind to watch it? here's the link

oiya, how about if i touch the neutral wire? am i getting shocked? (if the phase isnt connected)

the theory is, AC power comes up from different pole, it's not directly one direction, isnt it? if phase to phase, current flows from L1 to L2 then from L2 to L1. it's ok, both of them have potential different. but how about neutral+L1?
so sorry eric, i ask too much.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010