Need simple ideas of monitoring cell voltage of multi cell battery

bigjoncoop

Joined Feb 1, 2019
Hey fellas

I build DIY battery packs and in trying to find a cheap and easy solution to monitor cell voltages. This could range from 4 cells all the way up to a hundred cells if possible or more.

I'm thinking about using an Arduino but I would have to use ADC ic. There are so many on the market and I've never tried to do this before besides just using an Arduino to monitor one voltage at a time.

If anybody knows how to do this or can Point me to a solution that would be great.

I would like to use an Arduino so I can create an Android app and connect via Bluetooth can you get a graphical display of every cells voltage. I need to at least monitor each series group of batteries but ideally it would be nice to monitor each individual cell of the entire pack so if one cell is starting to have a problem it's easy to pinpoint exactly which one it is.

I know there are smart / Bluetooth BMS's
Available but these are only going to measure each series connected battery pack not each individual cell. Besides using a batrium or similar BMS which is very expensive but that is exactly what I'm trying to DIY a system is similar to those high-end BMS is with individual cell monitoring and graphical interface.

I have came across a few very similar projects people have made but no instructions or anything besides just showing off it working.

I am currently getting everything ready to build a 3kwh 18650 Powerwall which will be modular in design so I can add-on battery packs later and bring it up to maybe 5 or 6kwh and one of the purpose-built BMS has to do what I'm trying to do is very expensive.

Again I do not need to make a BMS I just want to make the voltage monitoring side of it so I can monitor just the individual cell voltages. Not control them just monitor them. I already have BMS.