Need help identifying component

KingofCable

Joined Dec 7, 2018
Let me start by saying I am a noob at repairing PCB's , and I am having trouble finding a resource that will allow me to visually identify components. I am hoping someone will know what the component is. I believe it is a surface mount transistor , but I am not sure.

https://imgur.com/a/dhuEiyj

Attachments

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
That C15 is a ceramic capacitor. Different values of SMD caps are having the same size, so youre not going to guess its value unless you do some circuit tracing. Where do both ends of the cap. go?

transistor.jpg

Allen

Last edited:

KingofCable

Joined Dec 7, 2018
Thanks so much for the reply .. does the color of the component say anything about its value. It is just that on some circuit boards i have noticed that devices that look similar are black. I will take it out of its housing tomorrow and take a pick so we can try and determine where the wire goes. Thanks again.

KingofCable

Joined Dec 7, 2018
So i tried to trace this out , if you look at the light blue line i traced it appears it passes through and circles around pin 7 on the chip and back out . If you notice the solder point on the back view in the dead center i have labeled with a ?, not sure what that is. Looks like C13 goes directly to pin 3. I have included a pic of the back of the board , it appears some traces go to different pins for sure. Just an observation here , is that many of these look exactly the same , like c12 and c13 look the came as c15. Is it possible they could be the same value ? I know that does not really mean anything , just wondering. I hope this helps us ( I know this isn't the correct pin out for the chip , i just labeled them for reference so you could see where you are on the back view.)

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018