Need help finding a transformer

Sprayman

Joined Mar 31, 2020
Hi all I am new to the world of transformers. I was asked to find a transformer to go from 3 Phase 200VAC to single phase 230VAC at 50/Hz. It should be capable of about 1kVA.

Im not quite sure where to start. here is the info i was given.

• 1/N/PE AC 230V 50Hz
  • 3/N/PE AC 200V 50Hz

From what it looks like. Our system currently runs on single phase and we will be powered from 3 phase.

Any help would be lovely, again a tad new to all this!

Thank you!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If going to 1phase from a 3phase source, you only need a 1ph to 1ph transformer, you would not use a 3ph to 1ph, as it would be pointless.
Max.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I am curious to see how you wire a 1phase transformer to 3ph, generally the usual, common way, is to connect the primary to 2 phases, which is 1ph to 1ph.!
A 3ph transformer is simply three 1ph transformers on the same frame.
Also is the transformer in question, star or delta output connected?
Max.

Sprayman

Joined Mar 31, 2020
If going to 1phase from a 3phase source, you only need a 1ph to 1ph transformer, you would not use a 3ph to 1ph, as it would be pointless.
Max.
Im a little confused. I have been seeing that an easy way to go from 3ph to 1 ph is to only connect 1 ph from my 3ph output. But what you are saying is similar i think? If i understand right youre saying only connect one wire from my 3 Ph source to the transformer effectivley making it a single phase coming in. and then it would just be a matter of stepping that up?

My only quesiton about that is do I lose my 200V input? or so i need to adjust my transformer since its only 1 wire being connected instead of all 3? (Does the input voltage drop with only 1 wire connected?)

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
State the phase to phase voltage and if it has a star connected secondary on the supply TFR.