Need a logic gate chip number

Mohamad Tarabah

Joined Jul 4, 2016
Hi everyone,
I'm learning the basics of logic gates, and I want to buy some for getting started. The problem is I am a hobbyist and I don't know serial numbers. So now I need a number for a popular AND chip and a popular OR gate. Ex: A popular transistor is the 2n222 and bc327 and bc337 ( I want something popular because I buy stuff from a certain shop and I can't find everything there.)
Thanks for your help, I appreciate it.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Some popular 2-input gates are:

Code:
           AND          OR         NAND         NOR
CMOS       4081       4071        4011        4001
TTL  LS    74LS08     74LS32      74LS00      74LS02
TTL  HC    74HC08     74HC32      74HC00      74HC02
Allen

Last edited:

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
You might want to add to your logic list an inverter and an XOR device.

For XOR: CD4070 (CMOS)
For inverter: CD4069 (CMOS, not Schmitt) and CD40106 (CMOS, Schmitt)

For just beginning, you probably don't need bother versions of inverter. Either one will do. There are TTL versions for each logic type.

John

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
For building simple practical circuits I would also suggest the versatile CD4093 (quad dual-input Schmitt NAND gate) and the CD4017 (10-output decimal counter).

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
For building simple practical circuits I would also suggest the versatile CD4093 (quad dual-input Schmitt NAND gate) and the CD4017 (10-output decimal counter).
The nice thing about NAND gates, they can be used to mimic other gate types - just wire both inputs together of the CD4093 and it works just like the CD40106 inverter (schmitt input).

For a hobbyist, the schmitt trigger inputs are more valuable because they become an easy replacement for a 555 timer if you need a square wave - and you get three on a single chip (assuming you use one inverter for the astable multivibrator and one as an output buffer.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009