Need a circuit that can trigger an alarm when a remotely switched circuit is activated.

Tentimes

Joined Oct 18, 2017
Hi All,
As a Newbie here, I'll apologise in advance for whatever mistakes I'll undoubtedly make.

Here is what I have:

12v DC submerged Bilge Pump (to get the water out of a boat)
Solid State Water level sensor mounted down in bilge (sump at the lowest part of a boat).
Remote On / Off / Auto switch and circuit breaker. 'On' provides direct powering of pump, while Auto routes power through sensor switch to turn pump on when the water rises to a preset point.
The sensor switch has both On and Off triggering points.

What I would like:

A simple circuit that I can splice into the 'auto' part of the circuit that will drive a piezo alarm when the pump starts.
I'd also like to incorporate a 'mute' button for the piezo that could mute the piezo until the sensor switch stops the motor.

Why I'm asking the question here:

Perhaps because of my rather alarming lack of electronics knowledge.

I'm sure there are simple circuits already published, but I can't be certain that they will work as I need them.
So, dunce hat firmly riveted in place, I humbly ask for help.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Here's the problem: You already know you can run two wires from the pump to a piezo and put a switch in the line, therefore it begs the question: Are you trying to avoid running the wires?

If true, the pump current must be detected and you gave no specs about how much current to detect.

Tentimes

Joined Oct 18, 2017
Hi #12.
Thanks for your reply and Yes, I could run wires if absolutely necessary, however in this particular installation, it would be far from a straightforward proposition. The bilge is about 10m from the control panel and running a new pair would involve much pretzel like work from my (slightly) old body.

Hence the desire to come up with some easy to install "Electrickery" to sense when the motor is running (15a)

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017