MOSFET Power Amplifier Coursework help

Ryth

Joined Mar 28, 2018
Hey, I am an A2 Electronics student and need to prove that my MOSFET Power Amplifier is functional, image is attached.
I was told to use the P=V^2/R formula to prove that the power at the input is greater than that of the output.
I currently have no clue on how to use this formula to prove this, any help would be greatly appreciated.
I can give additional information of needed.

Cheers,
Ryan

Solenoid.jpg

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hey, I am an A2 Electronics student and need to prove that my MOSFET Power Amplifier is functional, image is attached.
I was told to use the P=V^2/R formula to prove that the power at the input is greater than that of the output.
I currently have no clue on how to use this formula to prove this, any help would be greatly appreciated.
I can give additional information of needed.

Cheers,
Ryan
Hi,

What are you using to estimate the Ron of the MOSFET?

If you just assume Ron, then you can come up with a formula for the power in the solenoid vs the power in the mosfet and go from there for the proof. Make sense?

Ryth

Joined Mar 28, 2018
Hi,

What are you using to estimate the Ron of the MOSFET?

If you just assume Ron, then you can come up with a formula for the power in the solenoid vs the power in the mosfet and go from there for the proof. Make sense?
Could you possibly show me this? Sorry, I'm just slightly confused.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
When the MOSFET is ON, some of the power is dissipated in the ON resistance of the MOSFET and some is dissipated in the solenoid resistance.
Using Ohm's law you should be able to determine the power dissipations for those two resistors in series.
I assume you do understand Ohm's law(?).

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
"...prove that the power at the input is greater than that of the output."

I'm assuming that is backwards, but it depends on what you mean by "input" - the input to the FET gate or the +5 volt supply.