Model boat DIY speed control problem

Ken_NJ

Joined Feb 22, 2021
First, new to this forum. I am a scale model boat builder. I have two working submarines and a few surface boats. I have made a few of my own PCB's for these boats, mostly to power LED's. The PCB's I made were done on a freebie computer program, printed out on clear overheard transparent mylar, then transferred to a PCB using a clothes iron, then etched. I am not that adept and diagnosing electronic circuit problems.

I have a motor speed control kit which is a kit from our model boat club. The kit was designed by a member that recently passed away so I cannot go to him about this problem. I attached the schematics, parts list and a picture of the two speed controls. After inserting and soldering all the parts all I get during testing is the relays clicking. In his instructions, it says to not solder pin 8 and 10 of IC1 which is a ZN409CE. That IC is in a socket so I did not solder those pins. Pin 10 appears to be power for the IC. Pin 8 is an output which is also tied to pin 7. So I am asking here, shouldn't pin 10 be soldered so the IC gets power? Is that the cause of the speed control not working?

Schematic.jpgPartsList.jpgIMG_2085.jpeg

Ken_NJ

Joined Feb 22, 2021
Thanks for confirming that. Being that pins 7 & 8 appear to be the same output and are tied together in the schematic, does it matter if pin 8 is soldered or not?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Pins 7 and 8 of the socket should both be soldered to the pcb so that the load current is shared by the two outputs of the IC.

Edit:
Scrub that. See later posts.

Last edited:

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
In his instructions, it says to not solder pin 8 and 10 of IC1 which is a ZN409CE.
Welcome to AAC.

Could you show us the instructions that says this? It’s very hard to understand how he could have said that given that is simply could not work without +VE connected. Forgive me for suspecting you’ve misread something.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013