Microcontrollers and C programming advice

Spark1985

Joined Dec 1, 2016
Hi all,
I'm currently studying HND electrical/electronic engineering at college I'm applying to university for next year with third year entry. I have spoken to a number of people regarding the transition process and if there is any extra work and studying I can do now to make the transition easier, and have repeatedly been told that the programming is the most difficult part. I know they use C Programming language and I plan to try and familiarise myself with it. I have also been told to try and get some practice with microcontrollers and embedded systems. I have had arduino mentioned to me.
This is where I get a bit lost, as there are a number of different versions, and I can't seem to get a straight answer as to whether it is Arduinos they use. I'm also not sure what compiler to use and if it really matters. I've sort of been lead to believe it doesn't really matter which compiler or microcontroller to use and that it's more about getting familiar with the processes.
There are several others looking to do the same transition as I am and I would like to be able to give everyone a clearer idea and what we can do or ideally try and get the university to provide us with some support materials to go through. Not just for myself and others this year but in years to come.
I feel as though the information I have been given is a bit vague and would like more detailed guidance. I was wondering if anyone here can give me any advice as to what sort of information I need to get or if what they have already said is substantial enough?

Sorry for my essay, this is my first post on here. Thank you in advice for any and all help and guidance provided.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
I will share my experience.