Microcontroller manufacturer differences - for comparable chips

HeavyThumper

Joined Dec 19, 2022
I'm sure this has been asked ad-nauseum - but as I'm just getting started in the world I haven't seen any recent comments. If there's some existing threads I should read please point me at them.

I know the question of which microcontroller to use is to open-ended - the requirements need to be specified and from that it's easier to narrow things down. So let's pick an arbitrary controller that multiple vendors have some variation of - for argument's sake I'll say a Cortex-M33. Since just about all the "big names" have at least one if not 10 versions of this - is there something about the manufacturer(s) that make them stand out? All else being equal - how do I pick from a list like Silicon Labs, Renesas, ST, NXP, TI, etc. if there's no special sauce for a given chip? Are any of these more/less reliable, supportive, available when compared with others? Or do I just pick whichever one is either cheapest, more available, or has a friendlier sales rep?

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Today the elephant in the room is availability. The controller peripheral set and functionality for the required job is of prime importance. Things like documentation, software compiler/library support, trouble ticket access are also important things for vendor selection.

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Availability is the most important factor at the moment. Buy the processors first, then design the circuit. If you find after they have arrived and during the design stage that they won’t do the job, that‘s a bet you‘ve lost; but keep them on the shelf until the right project comes along! (Or sell them, you might even make a profit).