Methodology for Common Emitter Amplifier Design

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019
This is a start for me. I'm new at amplifiers and trying to lock down a good method for designing the basic core common emitter amplifier using an NPN BJT. This is what I have come up with so far. Right off the bat is taking half the supply voltage to determine the collector resistor correct? Comments or corrections please.

Common Emitter Amplifier Design
* Determine load line Q-point from datasheet for Transistor
* VC=VS/2?
* RC=VC/IC IC from load line
* RE=(VC/10)/IC (or RC/10)
* Use transistor tester to determine HFE
* IB=IC/HFE (not used here, info only)
*VB=VE+0.7V (or Vbe from tester?)
* R1= Use voltage divider Vout=Vs(R2/R1+R2) to resolve for =VB
* R2= From voltage divider above

No feedback to the base, no emitter capacitor, just the basic core so far.

Thanks, Sam

Here is what I'm coming up with.

ComEmitAmp.PNG

Last edited:

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015
Think you have the collector and emitter voltages reversed. But otherwise it looks about right. Don't really need the low values or resistors for the base bias, as base current is fairly low. You could use 2.2K and 10K and have the same results.

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019
Oops! I had the xstr reversed when I measured. I was scratching my head a bit about that. Yeah I'm trying to learn to use spice so playing with the values a bit there before breadboarding any changes.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Something to consider - For a single stage amplifier like this, you don't want the stage gain to be anywhere near the transistor's "open loop" beta. Just like with an opamp, you want the gain to be decided by something else. The function of the emitter resistor is called "degeneration", a form of negative feedback.