Making a voltage sensor to drive a linear solenoid.

russ079

Joined Apr 10, 2016
Hiya, Im a newbie and after some help. My electronic knowledge is very limited. Basically Ive got a 25kva generator that was designed to run off the pto shaft on a tractor. Ive made it into a stand alone unit with a engine on. What Im after is a board to control to the throttle on the diesel pump.Basically Ive set to engine to run at 1500rpm and the generator makes 415v , and it powers up to about 12kva fine. But when drawing higher current it labours the engine, slightly lowering the revs and only making 350v. A small increase on on the throttle brings it back to 415v.

What I need is a board to sense the voltage from the generator either single phase or 3 - 240v or 415v, and to be able to set a desired voltage within a threshold maybe +/- 5v. And then the board drives a linear actuator, to move the throttle arm forward and back slightly to keep the correct voltage. It would be nice if it sensed over voltage, and cut the circuit to the diesel solenoid, so it kills the engine if anything went wrong. Ideally all to work off 12v dc so I could power it from the engines battery.

Any helps or ideas to achieve this would be greatly appreciated. If someone is willing to build me one, Id be happy to buy it off them.

Thanks
Russ

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Does the generator also have a low-voltage output (e.g. 12V, 24V)? If so, it might be easier/safer to monitor that.

russ079

Joined Apr 10, 2016
The engine is out a landrover, the generator does have a green lamp on it for indicating correct voltage I'll test that to see what it is. Cheers

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009