Low voltage going to switch

ax1lla

Joined Apr 11, 2017
Hi,

I have an issue with the ceiling light in my laundry room. We had a florescent light and it went out. I got new bulbs and they didn't work. Swapped it out with LED light, and the lights would very briefly flicker when I flipped the switch but wouldn't turn on (not a dimmer). I changed this out with a regular light....and am still getting nothing. I changed the switch out....and still nothing.

I checked the voltage to the switch and it is only reading 21.4. All my other outlets are reading at about 126.5. So, I assume there is an issue with the wires/power going to the switch.

Can you tell me what my next troubleshooting steps should be? I am a complete newb with electricity, but.....if there are additional troubleshooting steps I can do before calling an electrician.....I'd rather make the attempt first.

Thanks!

Corey

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Also depends how it is wired, if the feed is taken to the ceiling light and then spur down to the switch with a switch wire, a Screwit or Marrette connector in the ceiling fitting may have come loose.
Check connections in the light fixture box.
Max.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
Can you tell me what my next troubleshooting steps should be?
In general, you shouldn't be working with line voltage if you don't know what you're doing.

Where were you measuring the voltage to the switch?
Do you know which circuit breaker the light is on?
Do you know what other outlets and lights are on the same circuit? Are they showing the same symptoms?

ax1lla

Joined Apr 11, 2017
There is not a separate fuse for the light. When I measured the voltage I set my digital meter to 200Vac and put it on each of the screws on the switch. On it was 0. Off it was only 21.4. i checked the other outlets in the house and verified I'm getting a normal value (126.5).