Leroy-Somer 1 Phase Motor Switch Wiring

Thread Starter

Geoff Andrews

Joined May 22, 2017
5
Hello! I have an INCA Planer/Jointer. The switch took a dump and I am looking for an inexpensive way to wire a new switch. The original rotary isolator switch was quite complex and fell apart while I was trying to get part information. The original switch was a Kraus & Naimer C17X. Kraus & Naimer is going to charge upwards of $200 to send a substitute switch box. The C17 series is obsolete. Please let me know if there is a way to get a working replacement solution with Home Depot-type parts. I basically need to wire a new switch and switch box with a 20 amp cord running out of it to plug in. IMG_5615.JPG IMG_5616.JPG IMG_5617.JPG IMG_5618.JPG IMG_5619.JPG IMG_5633.JPG IMG_5634.JPG Pictures are attached. Thank you!!
 

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
5,351
Best that I can gather is that there is a 3P ST , manual override relay. Top set of contacts makes relay self latching if manually set. If heat SW opens, relay opens, motor stops. The 2nd & 3rd set of contacts connects line to motors two windings, one direct & one in series with cap.
If so, then proper rated 3PST ( 3P DT ) relay could be used. A NO pushbutton SW could bypass first set of contacts to latch relay.
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

Geoff Andrews

Joined May 22, 2017
5
Best that I can gather is that there is a 3P ST , manual override relay. Top set of contacts makes relay self latching if manually set. If heat SW opens, relay opens, motor stops. The 2nd & 3rd set of contacts connects line to motors two windings, one direct & one in series with cap.
If so, then proper rated 3PST ( 3P DT ) relay could be used. A NO pushbutton SW could bypass first set of contacts to latch relay.

Thank you Bernard. Do you think it would be possible to wire a standard 2 pole 20A toggle switch? I just need it to turn on and off.
 

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
5,351
A 2P toggle SW should work but will not have thermal protection. I expect 7 leads from motor,
but picture seems to have more ? Can you identify the 2 motor windings? I think the winding with highest resistance goes to line & cap, other end of cap. to other line. Subject to review,
I would use neutral & switch just hot leg.
 

Thread Starter

Geoff Andrews

Joined May 22, 2017
5
There are 7 leads. 2 blacks from each hole, 1 brown with stripes from each hole, 1 yellow from one hole. There are 2 blue wires coming from 1 capacitor and 2 brown wires coming from the other capacitor. I'm not overly concerned about the thermal protection.
 

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
5,351
You will need an ohm meter to identify motor windings, black leads. Brown, probably thermal SW. Yellow, probably frame ground; goes to ground lead on power cord, might be green.
 

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
5,351
From the picture it appears that wires are grouped properly as, top group, 2 black, 2 blue go to line 1; middle group, 1 black, 2 brown go to line 2; lower group, 1 black, 1 blue tied together. Two blues tied together with a single blue carried out. Measure first.
 

Thread Starter

Geoff Andrews

Joined May 22, 2017
5
Thanks Bernard! I was able to get the motor finally running, but with some difficulty. The motor hums and buzzes before it starts. If I turn the spindle it will start to run, but there is no way it would run under load. I believe I have identified the 2 winding, but I am not sure how to get it to start with the slower winding then kick into the second speed using only a L1, L2 configuration. Any thoughts?
 
Top