learning basics or sample code[SOLVED]

Pushkar1

Joined Apr 5, 2021
How should beginners get started by learning the basics and code to design with planning or by looking at c sample code?

Some people are in favor that everything is already available on the internet, they should study the code and learn how it works. Then modify that it's needed, and make it work on your hardware.

Some people have a different opinion, they think that beginners need to learn some basic skills to be able to make proper decisions and use it properly in their own designs.

Last edited:

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I needed to fiddle with Python to use some Adafruit code for an SSD1306 LCD display. Not knowing any Python, I was able to hack on the code to get it to do what I wanted.

But, now I think I'm going to really learn how to use Python (even though performance sucks, it's popular). The first book I really looked at was Python Programming For The Absolute Beginner, Third Edition. It seemed like a good place to start, but it was a piece of crap. Luckily the book was given to me, so I'm not out $35.

Next I'm going to go with a book that describes the syntax and language features. I can skim through any sections that don't really help me...

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Should people just jump in a car and start driving on the road while looking at other bad drivers to learn how to drive?

The internet is filled with crap and good code. Without basic skills you will learn to mimic things that might be crap because you won't have the background to understand the difference. If you have the talent it won't take long to learn the basics of programming devices and computers. Then you can learn the basics of programming the language you wish to use.

xox

Joined Sep 8, 2017
How should beginners get started by learning the basics and code to design with planning or by looking at c sample code?