Kids car project

Rangerover

Joined Aug 18, 2018
Hi All,
I have made a battery powered go kart for my kids
it consists of a unbranded controller (unidirectional), 2 DC motors (traxxis - RC motors), and a hall effect foot throttle. I have a simple dpdt relay/switch to activate the forward and reverse.
i am now trying to work out if i can connect another hall effect pedal to act as a brake pedal. Could this be possible? if so, i need all the help i can get! im guessing i need a separate relay and pedal, although have no idea how to wire it all up.

i have no experience in this field just trying to find things online although i cant find anything for the above
would greatly appreciate any feedback and support in pointing me in the right direction.

thanks
Sam

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
I am assuming you want to use the motors for braking. This is not trivial and will require somehow dissipating a lot of power.

You can do resistive braking, turning the momentum into heat, or regenerative braking where the batteries are charged by the braking force.

In any case, it requires some pretty heavy duty components if you want it to be proportional, as your hall effect comment suggests.

If you want just a simple brakes on/off, you don't need, or even want, the hall effect sensor, just a switch that can operate something like a relay which removes power on the motors and puts the resistor in place. There are several considerations (back EMF, current handling, relay contact arcing) that you need to address.

And, such a simple system may not be very drivable, I really don't know how it would behave from the driver's point of view. It might be fine, but if might be quite abrupt, and it would have no holding power so the car would stop, but then roll.

Rangerover

Joined Aug 18, 2018
there is too much there for me to process - wow. i like the charging the battery though!