Joule Thief circuit with Wireless LED

abrahamkkk

Joined Apr 6, 2024
I wonder why LED1 is turned on in the Joule Thief circuit and wirelessly connected LED2 is not.

Someone said "In Joule thief circuit the transformer is would around a ferrite core. This is to make sure that the magnetic coupling between the two coils is strong. In your image you seem to have done this by winding the coils very close to one another. However the coil associated with LED2 is not wound in such a way and so the magnetic coupling is weak, ie leakage of magnetic field from the two coils is weak resulting in an induced emf/current in the third coil connected to LED2 which is insufficient to light LED2."

Is this valid answer? The LED2 didn't light up even if I placed it close enough.

Capture.PNG

ThePanMan

Joined Mar 13, 2020
Welcome to AAC.

I have no experience with Jewel Thieves (JT's). So let me just ask a stupid question: Is the diode installed correctly? Or is it reversed? Try swapping it around and see what happens. Worst outcome is 'nothing happens.'

Oh, and it's not "Wireless" it's magnetically coupled. Wireless implies it being separate from all other components by some marginal to distant location.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
LED1 gets enough current and voltage from the 1.5V battery to light up. The voltage has to exceed 2V.
LED2 does not get sufficient current and voltage to turn it on.

abrahamkkk

Joined Apr 6, 2024
LED1 gets enough current and voltage from the 1.5V battery to light up. The voltage has to exceed 2V.
LED2 does not get sufficient current and voltage to turn it on.
Why? If the transistor is turned off in the circuit on the left, electromagnetic induction will cause a large voltage in the secondary coil, which will also induce a large voltage in the circuit on the right. If the induced voltage in the circuit on the right was not enough, shouldn't LED1 also not be turned on?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009