ir2110 low side output problem

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by mah, Apr 17, 2019.

  1. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    i tried the attached circuit ,ir2110 low side output is same as high side . i saw it on oscilloscope. R13 got hot and burnt, i used the circuit without connecting the meter this is the only difference . supply to the circuit is around 10v also the pll isn't affected when changing resistor value on Vcoin pin as a test i grounded Vs which cause Ho to go low and Lo to go high.,
    what is the problem ?

    complete_ultrasonic_driver_circuit_74HC4046.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2019
  2. kubeek

    Expert

    Sep 20, 2005
    5,585
    1,094
    Are the signals going to HIN and LIN correct, i.e. they are never high at the same time? Is your 10V power supply isolated from mains earth?
     
  3. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    the signals going to HIN and LIN are high at the same time, is that mean the problem in 7402 nor gate?
     
  4. MaxHeadRoom

    Expert

    Jul 18, 2013
    18,844
    5,887
  5. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    the problem is in the nor gate what do you think is the reason?
     
  6. ScottWang

    Moderator

    Aug 23, 2012
    6,763
    1,047
    You may try the circuit below, the unused pins of 74HC14 should be connected to Ground, the VR1 and Cx1 used for the delay time from HIN, the 74HC14 was used to modify the waveform from Integral wave to Square wave, the duty cycle of VCOOUT should be less 50%, probably only 40%, so left the safe time 10%, 10%, if the duty cycle is 45% then the safe time is 5%, 5% to avoid the dead time.
    IR2110 Application Note page 26.

    complete_ultrasonic_driver_circuit_74HC4046_ScottWang.jpg
     
  7. kubeek

    Expert

    Sep 20, 2005
    5,585
    1,094
    Are you sure you have power and ground connected to the 7402, as I don´t see that connection in the schematic?
     
  8. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    Yes, they arenot on schematic but they are connected on board
     
  9. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    Thanks, but i have to find out the problem here.
    I simulated 7402 on proteus and it works fine
     
  10. kubeek

    Expert

    Sep 20, 2005
    5,585
    1,094
    Then start by measuring what is on the input and output of each gate. That is the place I would look for the error.
    Also you didn´t answer my question:
     
  11. kubeek

    Expert

    Sep 20, 2005
    5,585
    1,094
    Yeah, but what he measured indicates that the nor gates don´t work as expexted, because the first schematic should provide the correct signals. Your suggestion will create two identical signals on LIN and HIN.
     
  12. sghioto

    Well-Known Member

    Dec 31, 2017
    1,039
    157
    Actually that is correct. I was looking at the wrong truth table. Will delete post :mad:
    SG
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2019
  13. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    The power supply is atx psu of computer and i donnot have earth
     
  14. kubeek

    Expert

    Sep 20, 2005
    5,585
    1,094
    What you mean by that? Your wall socket has only two pins?
    ATX power supplies have the output ground connected to the earth pin fom the wall socket, and if you connect that to your circuit you will blow a fuse or something else.
     
  15. mah

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Mar 15, 2010
    337
    3
    In my wall there are only two pins and the input to atx is only two pins. Will that make difference to my problem.
     
Loading...