Independent power supplies for RF-MCU module and Sensors

jjuduma

Joined Jun 3, 2020
Ok where to start. I have just had the biggest laugh at myself. Didnt see the greyed out text that says do NOT begin with HELP!
Apologies people. Like I said, noob here. I have recreated the thread. See below.

Last edited:

jjuduma

Joined Jun 3, 2020
Hi All.

I have attached a picture of a design I am working on.
As the topic states, I would like some help with expert advice on a current project.
I am designing a battery powered IoT sensor Node which will form part of a Mesh network. For my particular use case, there will be little or no human interaction with the device except possibly during installation and response. As such, a core requirement is for the batteries to last as long as possible irrespective of:
  1. Power Demanding RF front-end
  2. Potential prolonged computations
  3. Pseudo real-time sensor measurements from relatively low rated sensors
I designed my power scheme as such:
  1. 2 Battery supply sources:
    • 2s1p Alkaline Battery (3v): This is the Normal supply that comes default with the device. It is responsible for powering the whole device (RF, Core & Sensors) in the absence of the other power source.
    • 3v Li Coin Cell: This is going to serve as the supply for the sensors power domain. The idea is for this power supply to complement the other supply by taking control of feeding power to the sensors of the device.
My Intent:
I would like the device to be semi smart by detecting the presence of a battery voltage through the "Power Good" output of a decent boost converter. This will alert the Micro-controller to turn off the P-Channel Mosfet, cutting off power to the sensors sourced from the alkaline battery.

My Dilemma: