I would like help in proofing my Schematic for a Nixie Tub Counter

bfrd

Joined Feb 28, 2017
This is my first post and I am quite new to electronics. I have a couple of projects that I am working on, but this one could use a second (or many) set of eyes. I put the actual questions in bold, don't know if that helps.

Premise: Create a circuit for the display of numeric data ranging from 1 to 9,999,999 sourced from a REST web service.

Details. For clarity I will say that my company processes x amount of widgets per day. I would like to use nixie tubes to display a running tally of the day's work. The web-service is firmly in my wheelhouse so that part along with the appropriate data caching is not an issue.

What is an issue is the PCB layout. I have not yet decided which microcontoller I plan on using. My options are propeller, arduino, and raspberry pi. I think I can rule out the prop just based on ease of use. The arduino is easy to use, but wireless connectivity will have to be added in. The pi seems like the easy choice, but I am open to other suggestions.

Power: I have a separate power supply for the tubes providing 170V from 9V input. I will also need 5V for the drivers and shift registers which I plan to pull off the microcontroller. Since the drivers will be using the 5V and Gnd from the controller, but also need the Gnd from the 170V I will just tie the two grounds together. Do I need to do anything extra here for safety? I realize that we are talking about a ground, but I still want to make sure.