I want some suggestions or help in SPI interfacing.

Gouthama Priyan

Joined Jul 27, 2018
You make life difficult. Why do you want SPI interface between PC and the 'outside' world?
SPI sort distance and very sensitive for external electrical noise.

Look at the microchip site there are some SPI timing descriptions available.

Most simple way is to use a PIC from PC => PIC parallel in SPI master / slave or serial ( data in or out or both.)
Picbuster
Hello I just got through your comments
i want some suggestions or help in SPI interfacing.
Actually i wanted to do some paramter setting in LV8907 IC, where the parameter settings are done through SPI interface. Could you suggest me an method to carry out parameter setting?

Mods Note:
Please don't hijack other member's thread.
This thread was split from Talking to SPI devices from parallel port.

Last edited by a moderator:

Gouthama Priyan

Joined Jul 27, 2018
I would like to communicate with LV8907
And i'm new to this
i have added a screenshot of device configuration of the IC for your reference
Could you please suggest how we could store the settings in OTP
upload_2019-9-23_21-41-40.png

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Those are the standard 4 lines ( not all are necessarily used) for SPI. The question was, what MCU (microcontroller) are you using and what language? The only MCU I am familiar with are 8-bit PIC from Microchip; although, for SPI there is a lot of similarity in function. I just can't give much help in identifying the registers.

Just looking at the table you post:
1) EN means the chip needs to be enabled. It has nothing to do with SPI per se, except you cannot communicate with a chip that is not enabled.