I have just been scammed!?

Kojii

Joined Jul 19, 2013
Hi everyone. I really dont know where to post this. Sorry for any inconvenience I have bought a PC controlled VHF radio scanner 25mhz-1300mhz from ebay here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-25-1350...pt=US_Ham_Radio_Receivers&hash=item27e8b62357

No antenna was included.
It turned out there was an icon of a keyboard with a nr rtl28338uh1dir. That was the receiver!

I right away thought it was a scam. It was from Russia I know but can it be confirmed this is a scam.? I opened it up and this is how it looked inside. Now I know USB dongles can be converted into radio receivers but I am not an engineer and thought the apparent chip was so little. It would be highly appreciated if I got some help if this is a a real or fake. I contacted the seller.

Thanks and Best Regards

Attachments

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
Sorta. It's what they call dongle SDR radio. Software Designed Radio. You can buy the dongle on ebay for about $20. Connect dongle to a decent antenna and they(mine) works great! You can download the software for free. You can see the entire spectrum. Best $20 dollars I ever spent. Use good mutiband ant. and high quality feed line. Some use dongle at ant. and then use long usb cable instead of long feedline. Been told its better and it should be. I haven't tried that yet. If I were starting fresh, I would go for long usb cable. Excellent receivers for the money. Return yours and get twenty dollar job and ant. Enjoy.

Kojii

Joined Jul 19, 2013
Thank you, so the thing about was at least a "receiver"? not just complete fake/scam. I know that a dongle is much cheaper but I thought (after seeing that nonworking keyboard icon on PC)that what I got is not even a usb dongle.

But it is a dongle you say, ha?
At any rate I am returning it

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
The only problem is they failed to provide the antenna.