How to test continuity for below devices?

telisaths

Joined Jul 18, 2023
Hi,

I am very new to electronics and wiring and I am working with a DAQ system that was made by someone else which has a short circuit at an unknown location. There is a 12V power supply that connects to an Arduino board and from there to a relay (goes to a valve), and also 12V to a 24V converter and to a couple 24V barriers and devices in parallel. Lastly there is a 5V side from the arduino to a bunch of sensor chips. When I connect the battery to the converter everything seems to operate normally (lights are on and no visual failures) but when I connect the 12V to arduino, it fries it at the voltage regulator. I have no indication if the 5V side works since the arduino does only send current to the 5V devices for a split second before they die. My plan is the following:

• [ ] do continuity test on 12V side and 5V side (not sure how to preform continuity test on devices, only wires)
  • [ ] check each connection if loose and verify soldering and insulation
  • [ ] test 5V side (I have access to an independent 5v power source but would like to avoid connecting it until I have inspected it more)
  • [ ] test how to measure V and current flowing through Arduino without Arduino (not sure yet how to do this)

Does anyone have suggestions of steps to add or methods on bullets 1,3 and 4?

Thank you!

rsjsouza

Joined Apr 21, 2014
  • do continuity test on 12V side and 5V side (not sure how to preform continuity test on devices, only wires)