How to determine Thyristor gate resistance?

zazas321

Joined Nov 29, 2015
Hello guys. I am currently studying about ways to drive DC motors. I came across Thyristor and have been looking in to them for a while. I am a little confused about the resistor choises to limit the current to the gate.
https://ibb.co/cd2yuc
Lets analyse this circuit. How do I know what value of Rg and Rgk to pick. Lets say i need 10 mA of current to flow into the gate of thyristor and the supply is 9v. I can determine what current would flow through Rg but I cannot determine what current will flow to Rgk and gate. The current that was flowing to Rg will be split to Rgk current and Gate current but as we do not know internal resistance of Gate we cannot calculate the current that will be flowing to the gate. I might have confused everything but thats what I am confused about..

Last edited:

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
The gate-cathode of a thyristor behaves much like a diode. From the datasheet you should be able to get a reasonable value for the gate voltage when the gate current is 10mA, then you can solve the problem.

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
A gate-cathode resistor may exist internal to the thyristor. Using one externally is typically done to reduce the sensitivity and help prevent problems with false triggering due to high die temperature or rate of rise of applied voltage. For many applications no external gate-cathode resistor is required.

In reality it is common to drive the gate with a current pulse much greater than the minimum trigger current, especially if the external circuit would allow a very high rate of rise of current, for example a capacitive load. Allowable rate of rise of on-state current is usually specified in the datasheet.