How to connect cables to new dimmer for my halogen lamp

adri123

Joined Apr 11, 2018
Hi all,

I have an halogen lamp and the dimmer has burnt.
I bought a new dimmer and i'd like to disconnect the cables from the old one and connect them in the new one.
Could you please tell me how ? (what goes where)
The two systems are not exactly the same. I'm not an electrician or whatever but i can manipulate tools so i'd be happy to do it.

Please tell me if you need me to provide you with mroe info.

Cheers,
Adrien

Old dimmer:

New dimmer:
left side

right side

schema

Attachments

Joined Nov 30, 2010
We can see that N means blue and L means brown.
Brown is power and funny looking X is the load.
On the new board, the power arrives at the end near the fuse with blue attached to the terminal marked, "N" and brown to "L".
The halogen lamp gets connected to the two funny looking X's with the colors being irrelevant.

adri123

Joined Apr 11, 2018
Thank you #12 for your very precise answer. I appreciate.
Before applying it, i would like to make sure i give you the most data possible.
I forgot to mention something on the photo of the old dimmer.
On the old dimmer, the power comes into X N and the lamp gets connected to N L.
Like this:

I have no idea how these work but in your answer you kind of invert these.
You put power in N L and lamp in X X.
While on the old dimmer it was power in X N and lamp in N L.

Is your answer still valid, or is it different with this additional info i'm giving you? Sorry for not mentioning that before..

Attachments

You have a 50% of getting it right. I don;t agree with #12. Why?:

The funny looking X is an AC symbol with a slanted arrow in it. This suggests variable AC which would go to the lamp and not the line. That seems to be confirmed in your Fig #1 schematic.