How to connect a tri-color LED display - RGB

Garratt-Nash

Joined Jun 23, 2024
Hello all
This is my first post - I have very little knowledge when it come to mA or Voltage, I'm hopping to get schooled on this?
I am working on a little project on my classic Mini - I have converted my heater matrix from the tradition pull cord/wire to using a small stroke 12v actuator, using a DPDT switch to operate the forward/reverse, this work perfectly but need a red LED to show forward and a blue LED to show reverse. I have purchased a TRI-color LED display - RGB (Only need RB) not to sure on the voltage I need? I am going to need 12v supply as its going in the car, the diagram I have states 20mA and the voltage of the LED's is between 2v/3.8v I have a 3v power brick that runs the blue and green but the red is very faint, no idea what I'm going hereled.jpg but I do no what I would like to achieve.. Thanks for any help on this. please see the diagram/attachment

Jerry-Hat-Trick

Joined Aug 31, 2022
You should probably use higher value resistors to make sure the LEDs don’t see more than 20mA. If the red LED has a voltage drop of 2.0V you should use a resistor which drops 12.5V at 20mA. Using Ohms Law that’s a resistance of 12.5/0.02 = 625 ohms. The nearest standard value above this is 680 ohms - always use a higher value to reduce the current. In theory you could use a smaller value for the blue LED but the same value is easy and the perceived brightness of blue LEDs is greater anyway. You may actually decide to use a higher value for the blue LED to match the perceived brightness of red and blue

I’m slightly concerned you may have damaged the red LED by connecting 3.0V across it, forcing more than the specified current.

Garratt-Nash

Joined Jun 23, 2024