How to best drive 100W RGB LED - any suggestions for ICs?

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
I have this 100W RGB LED, with each color having a max current of ~1A and a voltage of 30-35 Volts (except red which is ~25 V).

Here are my goals:
-I want to drive each color independently with a constant current of 1A at those voltages, as opposed to using a resistor or some other means of driving them.
-I want to be able to control it with the ESP-32, which I believe outputs 3.3V. So I need a circuit to convert it to a 5+V signal or an IC that takes 3.3V input.
-it should be a reasonably efficient circuit where only the LED needs active cooling, not any of the components controlling it

So here is where I need help. Is there an IC that can output those currents and voltages with just, maybe a 40-60V DC power supply and some passive components? Are there some that take 3.3V input? Also, it would need to be through-hole and not SMD because I'm not that good at soldering. I tried looking on mouser but I wasn't really sure if the ICs that were showing up would work, and I didn't know what some of the specifications meant.

Also, all of the constant current boards with those output currents and voltages were $20+ and bulky, and I don't want to spend $60 when there is an easy $5-10 DIY solution.

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
Okay, thanks. I'll have to look into that more. What value inductor should I use, though? I didn't see anything in the datasheet.

-live wire-

Joined Dec 22, 2017
I'm confused, doesn't Vout vary based on the load if it's constant current, and also doesn't the constant current you want vary based on the input signal? upload_2019-10-8_13-34-51.png

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Near the end of the application note, they break down the calculations.

You will need to know the Vf of your LED.
Follow the reference design circuit as a start, calculate a new inductor for the LED Vf and supply voltage you are using.