How do I use this test socket ?

Seanm1

Joined Feb 9, 2024
Hi - I'm a student looking to build a test board for an IC. All the test sockets that I found at ARROW and Digikey look like this and I have mounting problems. The test sockets open and close nicely but that's all it can do. I need to affix the test socket to a something . There are no mounting holes on either side of the test socket. If I only solder it to the board, then I risk compromising the solder joint and weaken the wiring. I've tried to disassemble the test socket but the screws are too short to go to a PCB and if I tighten the screws on a board, the socket doesn't spring open.
How do you use this style of test socket and how does one screw it down to substrate or something ? How do I work with this ?? It seems like a dumb design if someone is constantly testing and ICs and needs to open and close the contacts . Much thanks in advance to those of you read this and help me.
Screen Shot 2024-03-09 at 7.13.21 PM.pngScreen Shot 2024-03-09 at 7.13.21 PM.png

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
It seems like a dumb design if someone is constantly testing and ICs and needs to open and close the contacts .
That's the whole point of a ZIF (Zero Insertion Force) socket. You open, insert an IC, close, test, open, remove the IC, repeat.

Instead of badmouthing a brilliant design, why don't you explain what you're trying to do.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009