How do I "isolate" voltage drops in my circuit?

bignobody

Joined Jan 21, 2020
I'm still relatively new to this, so this might be a stupid question or I might have some terms wrong.

I've been experimenting with Voltage Controlled Oscillators, mostly CD40106 based.

Let's say I have a circuit with 2 Voltage Controlled Oscillators. One is used as a clock oscillator to drive another IC, and the second is an audio oscillator which will go to an amplifier.

To have an indicator LED for each oscillator, I buffer each oscillator's output and connect each buffered output to an LED and then to ground.

Doing this I have noticed the voltage drop across my Clock oscillator's LED is affects the voltage of the Audio oscillator, which is altering the sound produced in an undesirable way. If I remove the Clock oscillator's LED the interference stops, because the voltage drop is gone.

Is there a way to "isolate" the clock oscillator LED's voltage drop in my circuit so it doesn't affect the audio VCO?

bignobody

Joined Jan 21, 2020
@joeyd999 Thanks for the link. Grounding could be the issue. I will do some more research into best practices.

No schematic and no power supply voltage.
This is true, I was trying to keep my question general.
You said you have a buffer to "isolate" the LED so how can the oscillator be affected?
I said no such thing. I said I buffer the oscillator outputs and connect those outputs to an LED.

What are you doing to "buffer" these outputs?
Using two other input pins on the CD40106.
Do you have the circuits properly de-coupled?
Maybe, maybe not. Another area for me to research. Thanks!

Delta Prime

Joined Nov 15, 2019
I'm still relatively new to this, so this might be a stupid question or I might have some terms wrong.