High to Low or Low to High Detection with Reset.

JonKon

Joined Oct 31, 2017
Hello everyone.

I am a Mechanical engineer trying to figure out this electricity thing!

Anyways the characteristics of the circuit I am trying to design are as follows.

12v
I have a magnetic field switch as an input.
I have a momentary push button.
And I am trying to turn on a light.

The kicker is I want the light to turn on and stay on whenever the mag switch goes from low to high or high to low. Then I would like to have the push button turn the light off no matter what state the mag switch is in. I would like the light to stay off until the mag switch changes state again.

I have attached a copy of a relay diagram that should do what I am trying to do but I would like to simplify it with logic gates and have been racking my brain to hard on how to get it done.

For now this a a pet project but eventually I may get some PCBs made for this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Digital-logic-wise, it goes like this:
Leading edge detector
Trailing edge detector
OR the two detector outputs
Use the combined signal to SET a flipflop
The ff output drives the light
Pushbutton switch drives the ff RESET input

All of this can be done in one logic gate package, like a quad NAND gate or a hex inverterI designed two versions of this circuit for another thread.

Assuming the light runs on the same 12 V as the logic, what is it? Type, current, etc.

What is the output from the magnetic field switch? Manufacturer and part number, datasheet, etc.

To clarify a possible logic bomb, lets assume the switch just went from low to high and turned on the light. If the field goes from high to low before the reset is pushed, does the light stay on or turn off?

ak

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008