Help with Optical Sensor Fluorometer

Discussion in 'Test & Measurement Forum' started by joshagirgis, Aug 27, 2018.

1. joshagirgis

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 27, 2018
    Hi All, I am new to this forum.
    I am a mechanical engineer doing some ocean science and dabbling a lot in robotics, electrical engineering, and ocean engineering.

Today I want to build an in situ fluorometer. This is a sensor which measures the fluorescence of a water column. So the sensor looks into the water and sends a blue LED light into the water. The chlorophyll in the water will fluoresce and reflect light back. This light can be measured and then correlated to the chlorophyll content.

Here is my design
    sensors-13-07872f1.jpg
    This is going off of a paper that I read here https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3715229/
    sensors-13-07872f3.jpg LED_Fluorometer.PNG
    However the design is sort of ridiculous. The transimpedance amplifier has a 5Gohm gain. When I built this I could not detect any fluorescence or differentiate from noise. I would move in my chair and the voltage output would spike like crazy just from the static i suppose.

Here is my purposed design to filter out noise(ambient light, static).
    f circuit.PNG
    It works by using a lock-in amplifier. Modulating the light source at 2kHz using an Arduino and using the SPDT to only read the signal when the LED is "High" or 5v. Then the High pass filter filters everything below 2kHz.

(modulating the LED using the arduino tone(pin,frequency) function)

The problem is I can't really read any light at all. I assume this is because the filter is blocking the signal I want. Without the filter everything is really noisy.

Are there any suggestions about what I can do for an optical Sensor?

Thanks

joshua

2. joshagirgis

Aug 27, 2018
    The op amp is powered +/- 12v

3. ArakelTheDragon

Nov 18, 2016