Help with HF buzz on plasma

fabchef

Joined Oct 13, 2014
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. Recently my plasma tv has started making a high pitch buzz when brighter pictures are displayed and quiet on darker ones. I tightened all screws inside and changed out power supply board (with a used one). I thought maybe the noise filter box(where the power cord plugs into tv) is defective? Any help would be great. Thanks. Fab

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Does the TV have its own internal sound system that might be making the noise? A plasma generates a ton of RF interference, similar to a light dimmer.

fabchef

Joined Oct 13, 2014
Hi Wehne... Yes it has internal speakers but still does it when they are switched off. My second pana plasma doesn't do this noise. As i said it happens more with the intensity of brightness on the screen. Fab

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The RF interference I noted also varies with the lightness of the display.

I'm no expert, but I believe the standard suggestion is to start replacing electrolytic capacitors. They age and frequently go bad. As they fail, larger ripples fail to get filtered out properly. A schematic and service manual can be very helpful in this.

Dr.killjoy

Joined Apr 28, 2013
Also remember plasma TV put out a lot of heat and that's what kills caps really quick.. I most times try to isolate the board from where its coming from..

fabchef

Joined Oct 13, 2014
Hi gang, you must forgive me, i'm not an electronics pro. If someone can tell me how i could check the caps (that are still on the board),with a basic, digital multimeter, that would be great. It seems that the biggest cap has a tiny, slight bulg to it, its not flat. Thanks
Fabs

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Show us! That could be a big clue.
Checking the caps on-board can be tough. First rule is, don't do ANYthing until it's been unplugged for a while. And then check any cap for voltage first. There could be a high voltage there for even weeks after it is turned off.