Help: Sound activated 12v LED strip lights powered by battery packs on a flagpole.

tachedout

Joined Jun 4, 2015
Hello All,

I'm a total newbie and I have been searching all over the internet without success. This site seemed to have the most helpful responses, so I thought i'd ask here.

Project: Portable battery powered flagpole with sound activated 12v RGB LEDs. ( will be used for camping/festivals/night time events.)

I'm planning to run in total 6ft of RGB LED strip lights. I don't have much info on them as they were given to me from a friend, but the markings on it says 12v and has 3 leds per section (see picture 1).

I'm planning on using 3/4" EMT conduit and its going to be about 20ft tall. The top 2ft of the flagpole will have the LEDS (3 x 2ft strips)

I'd like to have the lights activated by sound during festivals to flash with the beat. Everything that I've seen online seems to use a headphone jack vs a mic. If it used a mic, it was connected to a large breadboard which I don't want. I'm hoping to have something similar to what powers those LED/EL Tshirts. (hoping to be the size of this controller: http://www.amazon.com/HDE-Sound-Act...F8&qid=1433404361&sr=8-2&keywords=led+tshirts) I hope someone can help.

Power supply options:
znooda 5600mAh power bank (similar to this: http://www.amazon.com/BuW-External-...ie=UTF8&qid=1433400542&sr=8-2&keywords=znooda)

or

9.6v 3000mAh Ni-MH battery packs (http://www.amazon.com/Airsoft-Warga...l&keywords=9.6v+3000+mah+nihm+battery+airsoft)

I would like the top of the flagpole to light up in this way, but just flash with music and not just stay on or light in a pattern (
)

How I would like the lights to flash: