Help replicating signal

eetjd

Joined Jun 2, 2015
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here, my name is Justin.

I need help replicating a signal on a system I'm currently working on. The line, when idle, sits at +8VDC; when the line is active, the system transmits data on the line by modulating it and creating a very rough sin wave. The voltage swings from about +5.5V to about 9.7V when it's transmitting. The wave has a period of about 8uS so that gives it a frequency of 125k HZ. I've included two pictures of the line when it's active; the data was captured using a logic analyzer that can do analog.

What circuit could I use to replicate this signal? Should I use transistors, OP AMPS or something else? I'll admit I'm somewhat weak in analog circuits, so this is a learning process for me.

Thanks for you time!

signal_snip.PNG
signal_snip2.PNG

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The basic circuit is dirt simple. Keying the 125kHz on/off without introducing a "thump" is where the fun begins. This shows that the load resistance at the far end must be high, or the 8V source must be adjusted. See the slight offset between green and violet?

Attachments

eetjd

Joined Jun 2, 2015
Hi Mike, Thanks for the reply!

They are running the signal through a series of OP AMPS and then some Comparators before going to the microprocessor.

Is there a way of doing this without introducing an AC generator? In the circuit they seem to using only transistors, caps, diodes (schottky and zener) and MOSFETs. I've tried replicating the circuit in Multisim but didn't get no where near the same wave pattern.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
What is the load imedance, circuit type, etc? Is the 8 V delivering power as well as data? If so, how much. What power is availale for your replication, +12 V only, +/- 12V, etc? The signal looks like on/off keying of a 125 kHz carrier, riding on DC. Depending on the load, this can be done with a power opamp summing the keyed carrier with a DC offset.

ak