Help me start IDE coding in C++

Mozee

Joined Jul 23, 2016
Hello AAC fellows,

I would like to start programming MCU such as Arduino and probably PICs afterwards. I am totally new to coding, I have ZERO background for any coding language, however, I am interested in C++ because it is widely used language.

The main thing is that I don't want to loose time learning things that might not be used for micro-controllers. I want to learn what is related to electronics and not general coding if possible!

For a start I want to start learning programming Arduinos at first because they are simple and so I can learn Coding at the same time. I tried the Arduino language and watched some tutorials and made a blinking LED etc but I want to start raw, plain C++ and build up knowledge like that instead of a simplified C/C++ instructions in a function.

How do i achieve that?
Any good books I can read?
I need a solid first step, a solid ground so I can build up on it. Any help is highly appreciate. Thank you

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
The Arduino does not use C++. In fact, C++ is very rarely used on any microcontroller, though it is sometimes available for larger chips where there is a large amount of RAM, such as the PIC32 series.

C is widely used in microcontrollers, and I believe the code for Arduino is in a language quite similar to C.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The main thing is that I don't want to loose time learning things that might not be used for micro-controllers. I want to learn what is related to electronics and not general coding if possible!
Then you don't want to learn C++. Like what Ernie says.

Have you heard of something called ASM?

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013